European Chess Design Competition – Round 3 Entries

Vote now!


Ancient China [Julien Dellapuppa]
You have the power of the wall. The Great Wall keeps enemies out – and your own soldiers in.
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You have a wall partially enclosing your 3x5 starting area. This wall may not be crossed however; jumping pieces (i.e. knights) can jump over it. If your queen is captured, the wall is destroyed and no longer functions.

Armenia [Arka Mardirossian]
You have the power of religion. Armenia was the first kingdom to use Christianity to its advantage.
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Your patriarch[image: image1.png]


, worth two points, which is your royal piece, can move like a king, like a bishop, and can also jump two squares diagonally, but cannot capture.
Whenever one of your pieces moves to a square within two squares of the patriarch, it can move again this turn.
Assassins’ Guild [Alex Nisnevich] 
You have the power of stealth.  Assassins can strike without warning.
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You may only have one knight in play at a time: if you have more than one knight at any time, you must remove all your knights except for one from the board.

On your turn, instead of moving, you may permanently convert a bishop or rook you control into a knight.

At the beginning of your turn, you may choose to hide your knight. Knights may be hidden for up to three turns in a row. While your knight is hidden, its position is not shown on the board but is secretly written down each turn by you. Hidden knights may still be captured, but if a piece passes through a hidden knight, you may choose to reveal the knight’s location and automatically capture the piece that moved through it.

Aztecs [Joe Richman]
You have the power of warrior societies. The Aztec warriors were able to change societies with little training.
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On your turn, instead of moving you may change of your knights into a rook, or vice versa.

Balkan States [Neil Shah]
You have the power of assassination. The countries of the Balkan region have constant conflict and one of the highest assassination rates in the world. 
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At the start of your turn, if you have at least three pieces in play, you may target any enemy piece in your 4x4 square and roll a six-sided die:
1. You misfire. If any of your pieces is horizontally or vertically adjacent to the target, it is destroyed. (If several of your pieces are adjacent, you choose which piece is destroyed.) Otherwise, nothing happens.
2. If the target is a pawn or knight, it is destroyed.

3. If the target is a pawn, knight, or bishop, it is destroyed.

4. If the target is a pawn, knight, bishop, or rook, it is destroyed.

5. If the target is any non-royal piece (including special pieces), it is destroyed.

6. The target piece is automatically destroyed. If it was a royal piece, you checkmated its owner.

Crete [Joe Richman]
You have the power of the maze. You can trap your enemies in an inescapable labyrinth. 
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Whenever an opposing player’s piece’s move starts in the center 4x4 center square, that player rolls a six-sided die:

1. The piece does not move
2. The piece moves vertically.

3. The piece moves diagonally 
4. The piece moves horizontally. 

5. The piece moves normally.
6. The piece moves normally.

(Note: The player whose piece is affected chooses which direction the piece moves in. i.e. if it moves horizontally the player can choose if it moves to the left or right.)

If the player rolled a 2, 3, 4, or 5 on the first roll, roll again, to determine the number of spaces moved: 1-2: 1 square, 3-4: 2 squares, 5-6: 3 squares.

If the player’s piece is moved into another piece (even if it is his own) as a result of this, that piece is captured.

The Crete player is immune to his own power and thus does not have to roll when moving through the 4x4 center area.

Duchy of Milan [Julien Dellapuppa]
You have the power of fiefdom. The Duchy of Milan has changed hands throughout history.
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If you lose your king you do not lose the game.

Whenever an opponent captures one of your pieces, you may choose to become allied with him for four turns, during which period you may not capture any of his pieces.  When you ally, if the piece that was captured is a non-pawn or non-king piece, the player who captured your piece must give you a piece in exchange, unless this means that he will only have one piece left.  
Incan Empire [Michael Fienberg]
You have the power of manipulation.  Your army starts small, but you can recruit other people into your army.
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Incan delegates [image: image2.png]


, worth three points, can move like kings but can also jump 2 squares horizontally or vertically. Every time a delegate starts a turn within one square (horizontally or vertically) of an enemy piece, that enemy piece joins the Incan army.

India [Neil Shah]
You have the power of cows.  Cows are sacred creatures under Hindu tradition.
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Indian knights can, in addition to moving like regular knights, instead jump two squares horizontally or vertically. However, if you lose all your knights (“cows”) you lose the game.

Iran [Jacob Nisnevich]

You have the power of the bomb.  Your army is small, but, if left unchecked, you have the capability to develop nuclear weapons.
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Once every five turns (starting on your fifth turn), you can choose to remove any rook, bishop, knight, or pawn from the game.

If one of your pieces is captured the five turn countdown starts over again.
Isengard [Aditya Chandromoha]

You have the power of industry.  Your soldiers have been engineered to be the finest in the world.

[image: image20.png]



Isengard pawns move two spaces and capture up to two spaces diagonally.

Saruman [image: image3.png]


, worth five points, can move like a king, a knight, and a rook and is royal.

Wormtongue, [image: image4.png]


, worth three points, moves like a knight.  Whenever he puts an enemy king in check, that player cannot attack you until it has captured two of each of the other player's units, there is only one other opponent left, or another player captures Wormtongue.  Wormtongue may not capture royal pieces.
King Arthur’s Britain [John Fritzen]
You have the power of chivalry.   The quests you embark on give you great riches.
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Every other turn, you may move two knights at once, but may not capture while doing so.

At the start of the game you declare a non-pawn piece as the object of your quest.  If that piece is removed from the game you can declare a new quest.

Whenever a pawn captures the piece it automatically promotes to a knight.  Knights and kings who capture the piece promote to a paladin [image: image5.png]


, which is worth five points,  and moves three squares like a queen.  A king who promotes to a paladin remains royal.
Mordor [Aditya Chandromoha] 

You have the power of numbers.  Your numberless orc hordes can crush any foe who dares to oppose you.
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Your king (Sauron)[image: image6.png]


,worth two points, can only move by jumping two spaces horizontally or vertically.
The Witch-King [image: image7.png]


, worth three points, moves like a knight. While the Witch-King is in play you gain a pawn at the start of every turn, which must be placed in your 3x5 starting area.  
Every other move you make must be a pawn move.  If one of your pawns is captured, the piece that captured it may not be captured by a pawn you control for one turn. You may not promote a pawn to a Witch-King.

The Haradrim [image: image8.png]


, worth five points, moves one square or jumps two squares horizontally or vertically, captures every enemy piece it jumps over or lands on, and may only be captured by pieces within two squares of it.
Mercenaries [Alex Nisnevich] 
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You have the power of fighting for money.  May the richest nation win.
You start the game with five mercenary points.

On your turn, you may give any player one mercenary point to move one of that player’s pieces instead of one of your pieces. If that piece is captured before its owner’s next turn, you must give that player another mercenary point. 
Whenever any player has mercenary points, they may use the Mercenaries’ special power.

Ministry of Truth [Alex Nisnevich] 
You have the power of History.  History is in the hands of those who rewrite it.
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You start the game with four points. Whenever you capture a piece, you gain one point.

At the start of any opponent’s turn, you may pay one point to take back your last move. You may pay one additional point to immediately make a move, interrupting the current player’s turn. If a move is taken back, so are all of its effects (i.e. captured pieces are brought back into the game), and after the interruption, play resumes normally
Post-Reform Russia [Max Wang]
You have the power of ????.  
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At the start of the game you can choose one power from below:

1. You can martyr one of your pieces to move a piece twice in one turn.  If the piece is a non-pawn, you get a pawn for every point the piece costs -1.  You cannot checkmate a player this way.

2. You can sacrifice a non-pawn piece to destroy one piece in a horizontal or vertical direction , as long as one of your pieces is in the way and you don’t capture a royal piece while doing so.
Republic of Venice [Julien Dellapuppa]
You have the power of naval blockade. Your blockade prevents your opponents from using their powers.
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Once every other turn you may counter an opponent’s power at the start of your turn.  Any power may be countered, including Egypt’s.  The opponent will regain his power at the end of your next turn.
If a player is put in checkmate because of this, then the person who had his power cancelled retains it.

This power may not be used on the first turn.

South Korea [Teddy Yoo]
You have the power of air superiority.  You can drop troops into strategically placed positions.
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At the start of the turn you can put any number of pieces in reserve.  Once every turn instead of moving a piece you can place a piece in reserve anywhere on the map, except if it puts another player in check or is on the last two rows. You may not move a piece from reserve if you placed it in reserve that turn.
Thirteen Colonies [Stephen Liu]

You have the power  of Militia. You can summon a militia to defend your starting area.
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Once per turn you may summon a pawn in your 3x5.  This pawn can move like a king, but may only capture diagonally, and cannot move the turn that it is summoned.  It may not leave your 3x5 and after two turns will be removed from the game.  Summoning a pawn does not take up a turn.
The Cossacks [Cole Clark]
You have the power of cavalry.  Your warriors are adept horsemen.
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All of your non-pawn, non-king pieces can move like a horse as well as moving normally.  This increases all of your points costs by two.
The Huron Indians [John Fritzen]
You have the power of ambush.  Your warriors are adept at attacking from unexpected directions.
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All of your pieces can jump two squares in the direction they normally move in.  When using a jump move you must jump over a piece, thus a king can jump two in any direction over a piece, a bishop two diagonally, a rook horizontally or vertically and a pawn can jump two forwards into an open square or two diagonally and capture a piece.  If you gain a piece not mentioned here it will be able to jump as per the rules above, with the exception of a knight as it already jumps.
The Maya [John Fritzen]
You have the power of technology.  Though starting at a low technological age the Maya ended up with very advanced technology
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At the start of each turn you get an age token.  On your turn, instead of moving, you can use tokens to upgrade any piece other than your original king (which is your only royal piece).

 

You can combine powers (i.e. bishop + rook = queen).  Once you upgrade a pawn it cannot move or act like a pawn and is no longer considered to be a pawn.
· 2 tokens – king (non-royal), knight, or bishop

· 3 tokens – rook
· 6 tokens-any piece on the board

The Norse [Cole Clark] 

You have the power of valkyries.  The valkyries collect the bodies of the dead to fight for you another day.
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The Valkyrie [image: image9.png]


, worth four points, moves like a knight and can jump two diagonally.  Whenever the Valkyrie captures a piece put it by your side of the board.  At the start of the turn, instead of moving you may put one of these pieces on the board in your 2x4, as long as the Valkyrie is still on the board.
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